Tallinn City Districts on Map


In order to better fulfill the functions of local government, the City of Tallinn is divided into City Districts. Tallinn consists of 8 different districts. The District governments are city institutions that fulfill, in the administrative territory of their city district, the functions assigned to them by Tallinn legislation and statutes. The government of each District is managed by an Elder, and the Elders are appointed by the City Government, upon the proposal of the Mayor and after having heard the opinion of the Administrative Councils. The function of the Administrative Councils is to make recommendations to the City Government and Commissions of the City Council for the better organization of governmental work and life in the administrative territory.


Last updated: 11.11.2019